Submit a story or poem, inspired by a weekly photo in this fun, flash fiction group. You can read submissions or add your work HERE.  Comments welcome, as long as they are respectful and helpful, not hateful. Category: Drama Words: 100 Rating: PG

 

maui-from-mauna-kea

Photo Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

Her mind roiled like an angry ocean as it plodded through her anxiety. The dream was intense,  it contorted her sleeping limbs as her head rolled over the pillow. Teddy bears sunk under waves as Barbie plunged off a cliff.

Shortly before her sleepy eyes greeted the morning sun, she had a vision of a white cat emerging from the surf. It circled her ankles and led her to safety. When her mom entered to wake her for school she sat up, her decision made.

“I want a Hello Kitty birthday party momma!” Seven year old Jenny beamed.

Comments
  1. Sandra says:

    “It came to me in a dream”. 🙂 Well done!

  2. I often have nightmares where my walls are torn open, leaving my possessions, such as they are, available for any takers.
    Somehow I don’t think that at my age I’ll be awarded with a Hello Kitty birthday party to placate my shaken psyche!

  3. Gabriella says:

    Very unexpected! Well-done!

  4. After a dream of that sort, it’s a good thing she woke up so happy and with her mind made up, rather than fearful or out-of-sorts.

    janet

  5. Hi ST,
    Great job of describing the unreal, surreal, absurd dream world and then waking up to reality, with the residue of the dream. Unusual and creative story. Ron

  6. pattisj says:

    I can just hear this!

  7. Dear Ms. T,

    I loved the image of Barbie plunging off the cliff. A rather fitting end IMHO. Sweet ending. There’s an unflappable seven-year-old and future writer. 😉

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. troy P. says:

    Hahaha! Delightful!

  9. Linda Vernon says:

    I love it. From “roiled” to Hello Kitty! This is my kind of story! 😀

  10. good story. I had the same vision but I ended up wanting a sleepover and a pillow fight…

Leave a Reply

