Submit your poem or a short story of 100 words or less, inspired by a weekly photo in this fun, flash fiction group. You can read submissions or submit your work HERE, or click on the little blue guy at the bottom.

Writing tips, typo alerts and comments welcome, as long as they are respectful and helpful, not hateful.

 

wasp-nest

Fleeing the mesh of cubicles she found a bench at the zoo and opened her lunch. She was munching chips when she spotted the wasp nest. Damn if it didn’t look like her office, cubicle and after cubicle linked together, each soul isolated from the other.

But the nest was shriveled, dark, dead. If she didn’t get out, she would end up like that nest. Snatching her belongings she headed back to the office to update her resume. Maybe some night classes were in order as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Comments
  1. Good one! That’s where my first thoughts went but I couldn’t get them to work into a story I liked. I like yours, so I have no regrets about not going there myself.

    janet

  2. Good depiction of emotion.

  3. nightlake says:

    We can only be inspired by people like her. The hornet’s nest gave her a timely apt warning

  4. zookyworld says:

    Your comparison of the wasp’s nest with cubicles rings true here, and I like how it inspires determination in the main character to better her situation.

  5. Shreyank says:

    a great story and a different direction.

  6. Carrie says:

    Ah, a life changing moment via a wasps nest. Nice job 🙂

  7. Anne Orchard says:

    Great story, my time in cubicles is quite a while ago but I totally get the comparison.

  8. Joe Owens says:

    Now I feel like I am buzzing for no reason. Cubicles compared to a nest. Wow, way to bring me down! Good story though.

  9. Sandra says:

    Nicely done – we both saw the nest as the workplace, but yours was a bit more positive. 😉

  10. rgayer55 says:

    Oh, Excellent! I know many poor souls who are trapped in that environment. You nailed this one.

  11. Lyn says:

    The story may be from the turnip patch, but you are definitely not a turnip head. Different and excellent take on the prompt.

  12. elappleby says:

    This is good, I feel sorry for the people who work in cubicles like this.

  13. kdillmanjones says:

    Good metaphor!

  14. Dear Turnip,
    Good for her! She saw her entrapment in the wasp nest and made some positive decisions. Good story. Well done.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  15. Good take, one can never know were inspiration for change might come.

  16. sandraconner says:

    I loved this one. Wonderful, creative take on the prompt.

  17. We find inspiration from the darndest things. Whatever works.

  18. Funny. We can get inspiration from the oddest places. I’ve spent my time in the corporate “nest” before, so I can sympathize.

Leave a Reply

