A photo prompt is provided and all are invited to write a 250 word or less story in their own style. You can read the entries or enter your own by clicking  HERE or on the graphic below.

Tripping over his tools, he backed away from the approaching creature .

“Are you ok?” She asked.

“Jumpin’ Joseph!” He screamed, jumping to his feet.

“Sorry, I wanted to lighten the mood,” she pouted, pulling off the headdress.

“Well stop! I only have one weekend in the tomb, and I had to promise the family my first-born child to get that!”

“Sorry, but this place is creepy.”

“Creepy is what we do. If you can’t handle it, leave.”

Staring at her partner, in love and business, she weighed her words.

“This place is different. We have investigated tombs before, but this one feels wrong. It’s like something dark is draped on my back. ”

“All the more reason to press on,” he said, gathering her in a hug, “do you know what it will mean if we find proof of paranormal activity? T.V., books, grants, what ever we want!”

“Ok, I’ll go back to work if I can wear the headdress,” she grinned, slipping it back on.

“Fine,” he sighed.

The beads were annoying, so she tried to remove it,  but it wouldn’t budge. Tugging from the other side, she panicked when it refused to move. Spinning toward her mate,  she screamed into darkness. He was gone, as was their equipment. One of the crypts began to glow as a figure pushed its way through the stony surface. Backing into the wall, she frozen in place as the light revealed a woman levitating over her icy grave.

“Leave me alone!” Constance screamed, “what do you want?”

“I want to leave this place. My lawful husband, buried beside me, was a blight on this land, and on my life. He laid with many, never honoring our marriage. Why the very headdress you wear belonged to one of his many concubines. I am here because he killed me. I wish not to spend another moment in time in his company.”

“That’s it?” She whimpered.

“”Yes,” she whispered before she faded away.

When the headdress slipped to the ground, her world returned. She was determined to honor her wish, no woman should have to lie with her murderer.

Comments
  1. joetwo says:

    “No woman should have to lie with her murderer” Amen to that! Good story.

  2. That gripped me all the way through… A great story, well told… 🙂

  3. Ermilia says:

    Wow! What a powerful finale sentence. This is fantastic. I wish I could learn more about the murdered woman. Thanks for contributing this week! Hope all is well.

    – Ermisenda

  4. Anne Schilde says:

    The thought that proving paranormal activity is going to end well was very amusing to me. I hope it was supposed to be. Good story!

Leave a Reply

