Friday Fictioneers – 9/21/12

Posted: September 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

It’s once more time for the weekly photo prompt exercise known as the Friday Fictioneers. Thanks to Madison Woods and all of her generous photo contributors, a lucky group of us get the chance to read, or write our own 100 word stories based on the prompt. Mine is below the picture, the link to find the other stories or directions for adding your’s is below.

“It goes,” she shouted.

“It stays! It was created out of love!” he yelled.

“Love? It looks just like your brother, the leech who stole our money and disappeared, I don’t want it here! And, I paid a  fortune for the view that garbage is blocking !” She shouted, emptying her wine glass.

“It STAYS!” He shouted, jumping on the cable holding it in place.

The behemoth shifted, dangling over the cliff before swinging back to hover over the expensive marble. When it fell, she was prepared to kill her hubby, but screamed instead when the broken stone revealed the face of her dead  brother-in-law.



Comments
  1. Well depicted. Made me think of war of the roses (the movie)..

  2. I knew there was something I didn’t like about that cockamamie statue. I found the argument believable and true to life. I made it to 19 on the list this week.

  3. billgncs says:

    a domestic dispute gone wild! Nicely done

  4. Wow, there’s a lot going on in your story. I thought the argument was very effective and I never saw the twist coming. Great job. Ron

  5. Jan Brown says:

    Ooooh, very creepy twist! Wonderful!

  6. Enjoyed the argument. Spooky ending. If I had seen that face, I would have fainted. Nice work.

  7. rgayer55 says:

    Talk about tough love. Oh well, I suppose wives have killed their husbands over less than a statue. Good writing, Swirl. I especially loved the last line.

  8. rich says:

    “She shouted, emptying her wine glass.

    can she shout while drinking a glass of wine? maybe add “before emptying” or “after emptying.”

  9. JKBradley says:

    I could see this all happening, within my private movie room inside my head, including music and sound. With snacks too. Enjoyed. Thanks.

  10. Tight plotting in 100 words. Like it

  11. keliwright says:

    The ultimate act of love–the killing and encasing in marble of your rotten brother. Creepy. 🙂

  12. John Hardy Bell says:

    Loved the dialogue here. Completely believable and really entertaining! I’d love to know more of their story! Of course, we already know the most unfortunate ending!

    Nice work!

  13. vbholmes says:

    I think the question here is: Did he get their money back?

Leave a Reply

