Friday Fictioneers 8-31

Posted: August 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

Read or join the “Friday Fictioneers” by clicking on the cute blue face below my below my story. Each week Madison Woods posts a photo by great photographers, we are then invited to write a 100 words story based on the prompt. I am posting early this week as I will be busy the rest of the week, but I wanted to participate.

Unease plucked at her nerves as she dropped her overnight bag on the bed. Moving to the balcony, she remembered how much she hated the city, the stench of humans, car horns and flashing signs. She longed for her ancient house nestled next to the mountain, where the only sounds came from nature. But she knew she would stay as long as she had to.

He was here, she could smell him, and he would rue the day he drove a stake through her partners heart. His would taste good with dry wine and a loaf of bread.


Comments
  1. Joyce says:

    Bloody scary. Frightfully fiendish. Sounds like a chapter out of the ‘Twilight’ series.

  2. Sandra says:

    Personally, I think fava beans would be a more tasty accompaniment. Nice one. Vengeance makes for good reading, particularly vampire vengeance.

  3. I have a chill running down my spine!

  4. boomiebol says:

    Ooooh, scary…i feel my skin crawling after that. Well done. Mine is here
    http://boomiebol.wordpress.com/2012/08/30/where-are-you-friday-fictioneers-831/

  5. vbholmes says:

    Vampire retaliation consummated with bread and wine–interesting.

  6. Very chilling take. Nicely done. How about dipping it in chocolate? 😉

  7. rgayer55 says:

    A little communion to finish off the meal, eh? (as the Canadians say). I guess no one loves Buffy the Vampire Slayer anymore. Not enough romance? Nice writing.

    I’m #12

  8. Jess Schira says:

    Talk about an unexpected twist. LOL. It’s a great read. Nicely done!

  9. JKBradley says:

    Now I have an appetite to be slaked.

  10. Carrie says:

    ooohhh…ominous! An angry woman is bad enough, but don’t mess with a vampire woman

  11. I was longing for my house in the mountains…until I found out where you were going. And I have a glass of wine sitting here, too. Perfectly creepy! 🙂

  12. Rather creepy. A little blood wine with that stake, dearie?

  13. billgncs says:

    deliciously evil…. I was really on the “love” train of thought when you turned me all around. Someone is in trouble!

  14. Paul says:

    Vampires seem way overdone to me. So I enjoyed the first two thirds of your tale. A nice build up. Great choice of words. I liked “the stench of humans”. But I felt the ending could have been left a bit more mysterious, maybe. More hints that she’s a supernatural being rather than telling us outright. Still, after all that, I enjoy your writing

    • I agree, vampires are everywhere, from movies to T.V. Even I am sick of the glut, steering away from “True Blood” etc. However, I am still drawn to the black and white films with Bela Lugosi, Christopher Lee or Peter Cushing. I love the innocence, the villagers with torches and pitchforks storming the castle. I even envisioned this whole tale in black and white. No hints, no mystery, she is an in your face vampire out for revenge. Thank you for reading, I enjoyed your entry.

  15. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Ms. Turnip,

    This was more a revenge tale than a vampire story. The vampire angle was a nice aside, though. I like the resolve that burns brightly in your protagonist’s heart. Would not want her to have me for supper.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/satisfaction-brought-them-back/

  16. John Hardy Bell says:

    Wow! This is the first story of yours that I’ve read and I absolutely loved it! The stake reference leads me to believe it’s a vampire story, but there is so much more going on here: revenge, lost love, and the promise a wonderfully violent confrontation. To say you have me hooked is an understatement. Nice work! I look forward to reading much more!

    Here is the link to mine. http://wp.me/ReXn

  17. Vengeance tastes better with wine. A chilling take on the prompt. Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/friday-fictioneers-harmattan-rain/

  18. elmowrites says:

    Ooh, I’m hearing Hannibal Lecter’s tooth sucking in my head now. Nice bit of Chianti… Great story of revenge, even for this reader who isn’t a fan of vampires!
    I’m over here – http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/friday-fiction-white-pegasi/

  19. I love the stink of humans part. And the whole thing in fact. It is a badass story. I’m 43 on the list today.

  20. Now, there’s an unexpected, but satisfying, ending! Though I wonder what kind of creature she is – I suppose her lost partner was a vampire, or at least the man she’s stalking thought he was, but is she one too? After all, you make it clear that she sometimes (not never) drinks…..wine!

  21. Nice one! Great way to tell a vampire story without using the word “vampire.” Also leaves it open to reader imagination and the possibility there could be a completely different type of being involved.

    http://ebooksscifi.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/fallout-copyright-2012-ilyan-kei-lavanway/

  22. Mike says:

    A tremendously scary story.
    I bet he was hoping for a quiet night in.

Leave a Reply

