Picture it, Write it – 8-19-12

Posted: August 23, 2012 in short stories, Uncategorized, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I love reading and writing for the picture it & write group. Each week they post a new photo prompt, stirring my creative juices. Click on the logo below my story to read, or write your own contribution.

 


He knew she could end his life in a heartbeat, yet he knew she wouldn’t, unless he gave her a good reason to.

“Why should I spare your measly life?” the ancient voice asked.

“I am not here out of fear, I am here to find my mother, taken by the crows,” he said without blinking. He had come this far and he wasn’t about to be scared off by a mystery voice hidden behind a tree.

“Ah, a cocky young man,” the voice chuckled, “you are no different from the thousands who have come before you.”

“I beg to differ, I am my own person and I shall not leave here without my mother!” he growled.

“Every boy loves his mother, they all think their’s is special, but they are just humans full of sin and greed. I fear you see your own mother through these colored glasses. Turn back and leave her to her fate as you go forth to make your mark in the world.”

“Ah, you are not as wise as you think! My mother takes in orphans, feeds the needy, sews clothing for those living on the street and teaches the illiterate to read. This world needs her and I will not leave until she has been returned! Will you stand aside or shall we do battle?”

The ancient one was confused, the crows rarely made mistakes, they didn’t grab any soul that didn’t belong in her world, but something in the boys eyes gave her pause.

“The crows do not grab innocent people as a rule. They grabbed your mother for a reason,” she explained.

“I believe they were there for me. I have fallen into drink, gambling and prostitutes. If anyone deserves to be dragged to hell it is me, not my mother. She has done nothing but make this world better. I offer myself in her place.” He said, rising to his full six-foot height.

“Well, I’ll be damned, this is the first time someone has offered their soul to the crows to save someone they love,” the voice answered, “If the crows are in agreement, we will return you mother to Earth. If not, she will remain here.”

“Fair enough, but know I am prepared to do battle if needed.”

When a pale hand thrust itself from the fog he pulled it to his chest, kissing his mother on the head before moving toward their home, vowing to clean up his life so he was worthy of this second chance.

Comments
  1. Anne Schilde says:

    I can hear his mom now, “Where is your gratitude? I’ve been to Hell and back for you, you know!”

    • Ok, give me a warning the next time you write something like this! I think I shot pepsi out of my nose as I howled! I never caught the “I am your mother, I have been to hell and back” connection! Thank you for this chuckle.

  2. Ermilia says:

    Another very different interpretation. And this time a mother character involved! Nice work with the creative story. Thanks for contributing this week! πŸ™‚

    – Ermisenda

Leave a Reply

